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E. Reporting Student Membership 
In compliance with Arizona law (A.R.S. § 15-828), all school districts must adhere to standardized 
procedures for enrollment. All student membership entries and withdrawals must be recorded in the local 
education agency’s (LEA) student information system (SIS). The LEA must record the date they entered 
the student data into the SIS. This date should be recorded on the enrollment form and the Official Notice 
of Pupil Withdrawal form. This section does not apply to homeless pupils as defined in section A.R.S. § 15-
824(C). Contact your LEA's assigned liaison for more information about McKinney Vento students.  

E-1. Reporting a Student to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) 

All students must be reported to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) through the Arizona 
Education Data Standards (AzEDS) portal. Various program areas within ADE utilize data collected in 
AzEDS. Each student in Arizona is assigned a unique State Student ID (SSID) that remains the same 
throughout their time in school. To enter a student in AzEDS, schools must match the student’s name 
from a legal document defined in A.R.S. § 15-828. 

E-1a. Membership Types 

Multiple types of memberships can be reported to AzEDS.  

Code 
Value Description 

A 

Ancillary is indicated as part of the student enrollment when a school provides some 
instruction for the student, but the school is not responsible for managing the student’s 
curriculum. Ancillary Membership Type often applies to a student’s part-time or 
fractional membership in a Career Technology Education District (CTED) school. 

C 
Concurrent Course Work Program is reserved for students who are enrolled in a college 
course through their high school which has been approved by their governing body as 
defined in A.R.S § 15-901.07 

D 
Dropout Recovery Program—a program dedicated to assisting youth who have left the 
education system in achieving their high school diploma in an alternative setting 
following A.R.S. § 15-901.06. 

G 
Grand Canyon Diploma – Student who has demonstrated college readiness and has met 
the criteria outlined in A.R.S. § 15-792.02 

M 
Main – Most students will be reported to AzEDS attending a charter or district brick-and-
mortar school with a Main membership.  

T 
AOI (formerly TAPBI) – Students enrolled in an entity approved by their governing body 
to provide Arizona Online Instruction as outlined in A.R.S. § 15-808. 

 

  

https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00828.htm
https://www.azed.gov/sites/default/files/2021/06/FY%202022%20Official%20Notice%20Of%20Pupil%20Withdrawal%20Form.pdf
https://www.azed.gov/sites/default/files/2021/06/FY%202022%20Official%20Notice%20Of%20Pupil%20Withdrawal%20Form.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00824.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00824.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00828.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901-07.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901-06.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00792-02.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00808.htm
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E-1b. District of Residence (DOR) 

In AzEDS, a charter district, school district, or other educational entity are funded for a student’s school 
membership or special education service participation. In most cases, a student's “district of residence” 
is determined by the residency of the parent or guardian with whom the student lives. In some cases, the 
district of residence may also be determined by the residency of a relative seeking legal guardianship or 
custody of a student. A.R.S. § 15-821(D). Please refer to Arizona Residency Guidelines for more 
information about determining student residency.  

E-1c. Tuition Payer Code 

Each student's membership to AzEDS is reported with a tuition payer code indicating whether the student 
is eligible for basic state aid or funded through another source, such as a student enrolled in a residential 
treatment program and receiving funding through the voucher program.  

Code 
Value 

Description 

1 The "normal" setting for Arizona school children who generate state funding. 
2 Privately paid tuition, no tuition charged, or not eligible for state funding. 

3 
Foreign exchange student - The governing board may admit nonresident international 
students in exchange programs without tuition payment. (A.R.S. §15-823) These students are 
not eligible for state aid. (A.R.S. §15-824) 

4 Non-SPED (NSE) students in residential treatment centers 
5 JTED/Non-Resident Charter (concurrent) 
6 Indian School Equalization Program (ISEP) student   
7 Students are funded through other state formula programs. 
8 Non-Arizona resident boarding at specialized school 

9 
Non-fundable students in 9th grade or the year following high school graduation (13th grade) 
who may qualify for funding if they meet the requirements as outlined in A.R.S.§15-393.  

E-1d. Special Enrollment 

E-1di.  Open Enrollment  

Per A.R.S. §§ 15-816, Districts must establish open enrollment policies, including admission criteria, 
application procedures, and transportation provisions, if there is capacity to enroll resident transfer and 
nonresident transfer pupils. Arizona school districts must comply with enrollment requirements outlined 
in state and federal law. Resident transfer pupils are students who live within the school district 
boundaries but attend a school other than their assigned home school. Nonresident pupils are students 
who reside in this state and desire to enroll in a school district other than the one where they reside. 
Additionally, for reporting requirements as outlined in A.R.S. §§ 15-816.01, nonresident pupils are 
students who are not enrolled in the district within which they reside and include students who attend 
charter schools. Tuition may be charged to nonresident pupils only when authorized under A.R.S. §§ 15-
764(C), 15-797(C), 15-823(A), 15- 824(A), or 15-825. Per A.R.S. §§ 15-816.01, enrollment preference in a 
school district is determined by several factors. First and foremost, resident pupils are students who live 

https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00821.htm
https://www.azed.gov/sites/default/files/2021/11/FINAL_English_Revised%20ResidencyGuidelines_11.08.21.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00823.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00824.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00393.htm


   

 Reporting Student Membership 

School Finance Manual, Revision 06/2024  3 
 

within the attendance area of the school and are given priority, followed by students who attended the 
school in the previous year and siblings of currently enrolled students. Furthermore, students in foster 
care, unaccompanied youth, and those attending a closing school may also receive enrollment preference. 
The district may also prioritize and reserve spots for students who are children of school district 
employees, resident transfer students, and their siblings.  

E-1dii. CEC-A and CEC- B Certificate 

A Certificate of Educational Convenience (CEC) is granted by County School Superintendents as defined in 
A.R.S.§15-825. A CEC-A certificate is provided to students who live in areas without any school district or 
cannot attend school in the district or county they reside in due to distance or lack of transportation. A 
CEC-B certificate is provided to students placed in specific facilities. A state rehabilitation or corrective 
institution, a foster home, a childcare agency, or an institution licensed and supervised by the Department 
of Economic Security or Department of Health Services, a residential facility operated or supported by the 
Department of Economic Security or the Department of Health Services, or a residence under the 
supervision of Juvenile Corrections.  

A County School Superintendent may not provide a CEC for a student placed in one of the above-listed 
facilities if, for example, the student is placed in the same district as their parents' or legal guardians' 
residence or if the student is placed without a court order and their parents or legal guardians are not 
residents of this state. A.R.S. §15-825. 

E-2. Instructional Time Model (ITM) 
H.B. 2862 allows districts and charters to use an Instructional Time Model (ITM) to fulfill the instructional 
hour requirements stated in A.R.S §15-808 (Arizona Online) and A.R.S §15-901 (Brick and Mortar). This 
law provides flexibility in how instructional hours are provided to students. This includes remote learning, 
project-based learning, mastery-based learning, weekend courses, or evening courses. However, the 
student must still meet the required hours outlined in A.R.S §15-808 and A.R.S §15-901 and the guidance 
listed within this document, section E-3.  

The district or charter may reallocate the minimum number of instructional hours per subject per student 
if written in detail in the ITM. The district or charter must also detail how attendance will be tracked in 
each instructional setting. If a remote setting is offered, it must be outlined in the adopted ITM and 
reported to AzEDS at a student level. Any deviations from the traditional in-person instruction must be 
documented to the greatest extent possible. To learn about these guidelines, please refer to the posted 
guidelines on the School Finance page.   

E-3. Enrollment and Withdrawal Dates 

E-3a. Enrollment Date (Membership Start Date) 

The first day of membership for continuing or pre-enrolled students can be considered the first day when 
classroom instruction is available, given that these students attend school within the first ten instructional 
days of the school year (A.R.S. § 15-901). For all other students, the first day of membership will be defined 

https://www.azed.gov/finance/certificates-of-educational-convenience
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00825.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00825.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00808.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00808.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
https://www.azed.gov/finance/instructional-time-model-template-school-districts-and-charter-schools
https://www.azed.gov/finance/instructional-time-model-template-school-districts-and-charter-schools
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm


   

 Reporting Student Membership 

School Finance Manual, Revision 06/2024  4 
 

as the first day they physically attend school. Continuing students who did not attend school during the 
first ten instructional days are subject to the withdrawal rules defined by Accountability.  

In the General Records Retention Schedule for School Districts and Charter Schools Student Records of 
the Arizona State Library, schools must keep an enrollment/registration form, whether paper or 
electronic, for initial enrollment for a minimum of four years. 

E-3b. Withdrawal Date (Membership End Date) 

The effective withdrawal date is the student's last day of attendance or excused absence (A.R.S. § 15-
901(1)). Students absent on the last scheduled school day are not subject to withdrawal but should be 
given a year-end status code. Arizona law requires that a properly executed withdrawal form be presented 
to a school if the student previously attended another school in Arizona (A.R.S. § 15-827). The 
Accountability division at ADE maintains the withdrawal codes, which can be found on the Official Notice 
of Pupil Withdrawal form. 

E-3c. Readmission 

Readmission occurs when a student has been withdrawn from a school and re-enters the same school 
during the same school year. The readmission date shall be the first day the student physically attends 
school after withdrawal. 

E-4. Determining Student Full-Time Equivalency (FTE), non-AOI 
The requirements for Full-Time Equivalency (FTE) and fractional enrollments are defined in A.R.S. § 15-
901: 

• Preschool: A program for a preschool child with a disability must meet at least 360 minutes per 
week and provide 216 hours per year. 

o Preschool children must be reported as 0.00 or 0.50 FTE. 
• Kindergarten – Grade 8: Refer to the tables below. 
• Grade 9 –12: Refer to the tables below. 

Required Instructional Hours, Preschool-Grade 8 
Hours enrolled as applied to a full year schedule. 

FTE 0.00 0.25 0.50 0.75 1.00 
Preschool <216 - 216 - - 
Kindergarten <356 - ≥356 and <712 - ≥712 
Grades 1 - 3 <178 ≥178 and <356 ≥356 and <534 ≥534 and <712 ≥712 
Grades 4 - 8 <223 ≥223 and <445 ≥445 and <668 ≥668 and <890 ≥890 

 

 

 

https://www.azed.gov/accountability-research
https://apps.azlibrary.gov/records/state_rs/CS-1137.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00827.htm
https://www.azed.gov/accountability-research
https://www.azed.gov/sites/default/files/2021/06/FY%202022%20Official%20Notice%20Of%20Pupil%20Withdrawal%20Form.pdf
https://www.azed.gov/sites/default/files/2021/06/FY%202022%20Official%20Notice%20Of%20Pupil%20Withdrawal%20Form.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
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Required Instructional Hours, Grades 9-12 
Where students’ subjects meet these requirements  

FTE Requirement A Requirement B 
1.00 Minimum of 720 hours At least four subjects, each meeting for at least 123 hours 
0.75 Minimum of 540 hours At least three subjects, each meeting for at least 123 hours 
0.50 Minimum of 360 hours At least two subjects, each meeting for at least 123 hours  
0.25 Minimum of 180 hours At least one subject, meeting for at least 123 hours  

 

Required Instructional Hours, AOI  
Grade Range Instructional Hours Required for the Year, AOI 
Kindergarten (KG) 346 
Grades 1 - 3, UE 712 
Grades 4 - 6 890 
Grades 7 - 8 1068 
Grades 9 - 12  900 

 

Required Instructional Hours, 200 Day Calendar 
Grade Range Instructional Hours Required for the Year, 200 Day 

Calendar 
Preschool (PSD*) 238 
Kindergarten (KG) 392 
Grades 1 - 3, UE 784 
Grades 4 - 8 979 
Grades 9 - 12  792 

*PSD – must meet for a minimum of 360 minutes per week. 

E-5. Defining a Subject  
A student's FTE can remain static, but there are cases where it may change throughout the school year. 
For example, a high school student's FTE must be recalculated each time their scheduled subjects change. 
Instructional hours may include core subjects, elective subjects, lunch, study halls, music instruction, and 
other classes that advance pupils' academic instruction.  

FTE calculation considers the student's annual enrollment and class schedule where the student is 
physically in attendance A.R.S. § 15-901 (5)(d). Students' schedules must accurately reflect their enrolled 
subjects, including lunch and study hall, to be counted towards total FTE hours. To qualify as a high school 
subject, a course should meet the minimum number of days required in a school year or the equivalent 
number of required annual hours. In addition, the subject should have a minimum of 123 hours per year 
and be counted towards graduation in a recognized high school.  

https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
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E-5a. Scheduled Lunch  

Students must have "Lunch" scheduled according to their posted student schedules to count towards the 
calculation of FTE. Lunch can be counted when scheduled between subjects, and attendance does not 
need to be tracked in this case since the student is already on campus and is returning to an instructional 
class. If a student's lunch period is scheduled as their first or last period, it may be included in the 
calculation of FTE if the district or charter can provide proof that the student attended lunch. 
Documentation must be available to support the student being on campus during the scheduled lunch 
period in case of an audit. If the hours for the scheduled lunch affect the student's FTE value, the LEA must 
prove that the student was in attendance during the scheduled lunch. If there is not sufficient proof, such 
as an attendance log, sign-in form, or other verifiable process, then the student's FTE must be recalculated 
and dropped to the appropriate FTE without lunch being considered as part of the total annual hours.  
 

E-5b. Credit Recovery and Online Subjects 
If a course is intended for credit recovery through an online platform, learning management system, 
learning software, or packet work, and it does not meet the required 123 hours per year, then it cannot 
be considered as a course that counts towards meeting the minimum requirements for FTE calculation. 
The student's annual FTE calculation should not include placeholder or unknown subjects. Credit recovery 
and self-paced subjects must adhere to a minimum of 123 hours per year. A student can earn subject 
credit towards their graduation requirement after meeting the competency requirements set by their 
subject area teacher. However, these credit recovery courses cannot be included in the student's annual 
FTE calculation if they do not meet the minimum 123-hour requirement. This section does not refer to 
courses outlined in districts or charter schools that adopted an Instructional Time Model.  
 
According to Administrative Code R7-2-301(E), students can take online courses if they are offered 
through an Arizona Online Instruction (AOI) as defined in A.R.S. § 15-808. Alternatively, students can take 
online courses that are part of the district or charter's approved and adopted ITM. 

E-5c. Examples of Subjects 
Example 1 

A scheduled period of instruction, 60 minutes per day, for 180 days may be considered a “subject” if the 
content meets the criteria specified above. 

  1st Semester 2nd Semester 
Length 
(Minutes) Days Total Instructional Minutes Total Instructional Hours Days Total Instructional Minutes Total Instructional Hours 

60 90 5,400 90 90 5,400 90 
A single semester provides only 90 hours of instruction. The first and second semesters must be combined 
to meet the required 123 hours. 

  

https://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/title_07/7-02.pdf
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Example 2 

A scheduled period of instruction, 90 minutes per day, for 90 days may be considered a “subject” if the 
content meets the criteria specified above. 

  1st Semester 2nd Semester 
Length 
(Minutes) Days Total Instructional Minutes Total Instructional Hours Days Total Instructional Minutes Total Instructional Hours 

90 90 8,100 135 90 8,100 135 
 
Note: Withdrawal of a student before the completion of the school year does not require a recalculation 
of the student's FTE. 

E-6. Calculating FTE for Grades 9-12, Non-AOI 

A student's enrollment in a course will only count towards the FTE calculation for a single school or charter 
district. If a student is enrolled in a Career Technical Education District (CTED), the courses they take at 
the CTED should not be considered when determining the student's FTE at the member campus. (A.R.S. § 
15-393(O)) 

FTE for a full-time and part-time high school student with fractional FTEs reported as 0.25, 0.50, and 0.75. 
A full-time high school student will meet the following criteria (A.R.S. § 15-901):  

 Must be enrolled in an instructional program that provides at least 720 instructional hours. 

 Scheduled in an instructional program with four or more subjects. 

 All scheduled subjects must count towards graduation as defined by the Arizona State Board of 
Education (SBE) and meet for at least 123 hours during the year. 

Note: The student must not have been previously reported as a high school graduate. An exception is 
provided for student enrollment in a CTED. (A.R.S. § 15-393(D)(4)). 

E-6a. Including Passing Time 

Passing time refers to the duration a student spends traveling from one class to another. It can be counted 
at the beginning or the end of a period, but not both. If the passing time is seven minutes or less, it can 
be included in the overall annual instructional hours calculation, as specified in A.R.S. § 15-901. However, 
passing time of more than seven minutes cannot be included in the calculation of the annual instructional 
hours. Passing time between a course offered by a member district and a CTED on the same member 
district campus can be counted in calculating the annual instructional hours. Passing time to or from an 
instructional program to a non-instructional program, such as lunch, homeroom, study hall, and recess, 
can be counted only between classes. However, if lunch is the last scheduled class, then passing time after 
the scheduled lunch cannot be counted. If lunch is the last class and affects the student's FTE calculation, 
the LEA must prove the student participated in lunch on campus. 

https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00393.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00393.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00393.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/15/00901.htm


   

 Reporting Student Membership 

School Finance Manual, Revision 06/2024  8 
 

E-6b. FTE Examples for Grades 9-12 
The following examples assume that each period represents instructional time. Lunch and study hall 
periods are not included in the examples. Unless otherwise noted, all schedules are based on a five-day 
instructional week. In the examples below, FTE is calculated using cumulative hours met and subjects 
alone to demonstrate the problems that can occur if FTE is estimated without all three criteria. The final 
column, “FTE to Report,” uses all three criteria and is the appropriate method. 
 

Example 1, Common Schedule 

Each course lasts 60 minutes daily for 180 days. Enrolling in 4 or more periods of instruction (subjects) 
equates to an FTE of 1.00. Each subject totals more than 123 hours when semesters are combined, and 
total instructional time for four or more periods meets for an annual total of 900 hours, which exceeds 
720 hours. 

    1st Semester 2nd Semester Annual FTE 

Period 
Length 
(Minutes) Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours 

Cumulative –  
Minimum 

Hours Met* 
FTE to 
report 

1 60 90 5,400 90 90 5,400 90 180 0.25 
2 60 90 5,400 90 90 5,400 90 360 0.50 
3 60 90 5,400 90 90 5,400 90 540 0.75 
4 60 90 5,400 90 90 5,400 90 720 1.00 
5 60 90 5,400 90 90 5,400 90 900 1.00 

* Minimum Hours: 0.25 - 180 hours | 0.50 - 360 hours | 0.75 - 540 hours | 1.00 - 720 hours 
 

Example 2, Minimal Instructional Time Schedule 

Classes are only 41 minutes daily for 180 days. Each 41-minute class period (subject) meets the required 
123 hours per subject when provided across semesters for 180 days. However, a student must be enrolled 
in 6 periods to meet the required 720 hours and to be reported with an FTE of 1.00. 

    1st Semester 2nd Semester Annual FTE 

Period 
Length 
(Minutes) Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours 

Cumulative –  
Minimum 

Hours Met* 

FTE to 
report 

1 41 90 3,690 61.5 90 3,690 61.5 123 0.25 
2 41 90 3,690 61.5 90 3,690 61.5 246 0.25  
3 41 90 3,690 61.5 90 3,690 61.5 369  0.50  
4 41 90 3,690 61.5 90 3,690 61.5 492 0.50  
5 41 90 3,690 61.5 90 3,690 61.5 615  0.75  
6 41 90 3,690 61.5 90 3,690 61.5 738  1.00  

* Minimum Hours: 0.25 - 180 hours | 0.50 - 360 hours | 0.75 - 540 hours | 1.00 - 720 hours 
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Example 3: Inadequate Instructional Time Schedule 

Instructional periods are only 40 minutes. Each period provides Instruction for only 120 hours (including 
1st and 2nd semesters). Subjects must be offered in scheduled periods of 123 or more hours per year. 
Even though instruction is provided for 720 hours, since no subject was provided for 123 or more hours, 
this scenario generates a 0.00 FTE. 

    1st Semester 2nd Semester Annual FTE 

Period 
Length 
(Minutes) Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours 

Cumulative –  
Minimum 

Hours Met* 
FTE to 
report 

1 40 90 3,600 60 90 3,600 60 120  0.00  
2 40 90 3,600 60 90 3,600 60  240 0.00  
3 40 90 3,600 60 90 3,600 60 360  0.00  
4 40 90 3,600 60 90 3,600 60 480  0.00  
5 40 90 3,600 60 90 3,600 60 600  0.00  
6 40 90 3,600 60 90 3,600 60 720  0.00  

* Minimum Hours: 0.25 - 180 hours | 0.50 - 360 hours | 0.75 - 540 hours | 1.00 - 720 hours 
 

Example 4, Block Schedule 

Instruction is provided for 4.5 hours per day. Since each of the three instructional periods is offered for 
135 hours per semester, each period may be counted as one subject for each semester, for a total of 6 
subjects (assuming a single subject is offered in each period, each semester).  Since total instructional time 
is more significant than 720 hours (810 hours), a student enrolled in this schedule may be reported with 
an FTE of 1.00. In this example, two instruction periods provide only 540 hours, requiring a 0.75 FTE to be 
reported. 

    1st Semester 2nd Semester Annual FTE 

Period 
Length 
(Minutes) Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours 

Cumulative –  
Minimum 

Hours Met* 
FTE to 
report 

1 90 90 8,100 135 90 8,100 135 270 0.25  
2 90 90 8,100 135 90 8,100 135 540 0.75  
3 90 90 8,100 135 90 8,100 135 810 1.00  

* Minimum Hours: 0.25 - 180 hours | 0.50 - 360 hours | 0.75 - 540 hours | 1.00 - 720 hours 
 

  



   

 Reporting Student Membership 

School Finance Manual, Revision 06/2024  10 
 

Example 5, 4-day Instructional Week 

High school with 4-day weeks. This calendar has fewer days of instruction, which multiplies to fewer Total 
Instructional Minutes for each period. Each course is provided for 90 minutes per day for 144 days. 
Enrolling in 4 or more periods of instruction (subjects) equates to an FTE of 1.00. Each class period 
(subject) totals more than 123 hours when semesters are combined. 

    1st Semester 2nd Semester Annual FTE 

Period 
Length 
(Minutes) Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours 

Cumulative –  
Minimum 

Hours Met* 
FTE to 
report 

1 90 72 6,480 108 72 6,480 108 216  0.25  
2 90 72 6,480 108 72 6,480 108 432  0.50  
3 90 72 6,480 108 72 6,480 108 648  0.75  
4 90 72 6,480 108 72 6,480 108 864 1.00  
5 90 72 6,480 108 72 6,480 108 1080  1.00  

* Minimum Hours: 0.25 - 180 hours | 0.50 - 360 hours | 0.75 - 540 hours | 1.00 - 720 hours 
 

Example 6, 4-day Instructional Week, Shorter Periods 

High school with 4-day weeks. This calendar has fewer days of instruction, which multiplies to fewer Total 
Instructional Minutes for each period. Each course is provided for only 70 minutes daily, 144 days. 4 
periods only offer 672 Total Instructional Hours. Therefore, enrolling in 5 periods of instruction (subjects) 
equates to an FTE of 1.00. Each class period (subject) totals more than 123 hours when semesters are 
combined. 

    1st Semester 2nd Semester Annual FTE 

Period 
Length 
(Minutes) Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours 

Cumulative –  
Minimum 

Hours Met* 
FTE to 
report 

1 70 72 5,040 84 72 5,040 84 168 0.00  
2 70 72 5,040 84 72 5,040 84 336 0.25  
3 70 72 5,040 84 72 5,040 84 504 0.50  
4 70 72 5,040 84 72 5,040 84 672 0.75  
5 70 72 5,040 84 72 5,040 84  840 1.00  

* Minimum Hours: 0.25 - 180 hours | 0.50 - 360 hours | 0.75 - 540 hours | 1.00 - 720 hours 
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Example 7, A/B/C Block Schedule 

Block schedule of A) Periods 1-3 on Monday and Wednesday, B) Periods 4-6 on Tuesday and Thursday, 
and C) all classes on Friday for shorter times. Each period meets for 123 hours over the year, but at least 
6 periods must be enrolled for this student to be reported with a 1.00 FTE. 

    1st Semester 2nd Semester Annual FTE 

Period 
Length 
(Minutes) Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours Days 

Total 
Instructional 

Minutes 

Total 
Instructional 

Hours 

Cumulative –  
Minimum 

Hours Met* 
FTE to 
report 

1 90/45 45/9 4,455 74.25 45/9 4,455 74.25 148.5 0.00  
2 90/45 45/9 4,455 74.25 45/9 4,455 74.25 297 0.25  
3 90/45 45/9 4,455 74.25 45/9 4,455 74.25 445.5 0.50  
4 90/45 45/9 4,455 74.25 45/9 4,455 74.25 594  0.75  
5 90/45 45/9 4,455 74.25 45/9 4,455 74.25 742.5 1.00  
6 90/45 45/9 4,455 74.25 45/9 4,455 74.25 891 1.00 

* Minimum Hours: 0.25 - 180 hours | 0.50 - 360 hours | 0.75 - 540 hours | 1.00 - 720 hours 
 

E-7. Contact 
If you have any questions about this policy, please contact the School Finance Account Analyst via a 
HelpDesk ticket. 

 

http://helpdeskexternal.azed.gov/
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