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M E M O R A N D U M 
 
 

Date:  April 5, 2019 
 

To:  Driver Education Instructors/Coordinators 
 

From:  Cara Alexander, Deputy Associate Superintendent 

  Health and Nutrition Services 
 

Subject: Renewal of 2019-2020 School Year Driver Education Program Application (enclosed) 
 
 

The Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Driver Education Program application for the 2019-2020 school 

year is enclosed.  If your school meets the stated requirements and would like to participate in this program, 

please complete and mail the application by May 31, 2019 to the address listed on the form (please do not fax 

the application).  The requirements of the Driver Education Program are: 
 

1.  Students receive at least 30 hours of classroom instruction; 

2.  Students receive at least 6 hours (or the equivalent) of behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction; 

3.  The class and BTW is taught by a certified teacher with a driver education endorsement; and 

4.  The principal or superintendent verifies the school information. 
 

Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 28-3174 requires, in part, that minors interested in receiving a class G driver 

license must successfully complete an approved driver education program or have a parent or guardian certify 

that they received 30 hours of supervised driving practice with at least 10 of those hours at night.  High school 

driver education programs approved by the ADE are approved programs under this law. 
 

The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), allows driver education instructors 

in participating schools to issue Certificates of Completion to their students who successfully complete the 

course.  MVD waives the BTW portion of the driver’s license test for students with Certificates of Completion, 

although they reserve the right to administer BTW tests to any applicant.  Contact MVD Driver Services at 

(602) 712-4700 for more information.  Driver License Manuals may be requested through the MVD at the same 

number, or viewed/printed online at:  

https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/Tests_Manuals_and_Driving_Schools/manuals. 

 

Information on driver education endorsements may be found at ADE’s Certifications website at 

http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/forms-and-information/endorsements/. 

 

If you have questions regarding the ADE Driver Education Program, please contact Davidson Riggs at  

(602) 542-8730 or davidson.riggs@azed.gov.  Thank you for your efforts to ensure the safety and  

well-being of our students. 

http://www.azed.gov/
https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/Tests_Manuals_and_Driving_Schools/manuals
http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/forms-and-information/endorsements/
mailto:davidson.riggs@azed.gov


   

 Return to: 
 

 Arizona Department of Education 
 School Health and Safety 
 1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin 29 
 Phoenix, AZ  85007 

 
ARIZONA 

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM 

2019-2020 APPLICATION 

NO FAXES PLEASE 
RETURN BY MAY 31, 2019 

 Phone:  (602) 542-8730 
 Email:  Davidson.Riggs@azed.gov 
 PART I:   SCHOOL DATA 
   Note:  Submit a separate application for each school requesting approval. 

 

 School:   Date: E-mail: 

 District:   County: Phone: (          ) Fax: (          ) 

 MAILING address:  

 Physical address:   

 Number of students expected 
 to complete both classroom and 
 behind the wheel: 

 
 
 

 Contact person of  
 Drivers Education 
 program: 

 
 Phone: (if  
 different 
 from above) 

 (         ) 

 Driver License Manuals may be requested through the MVD at (602) 712-4700 or viewed/printed online at 
 https://www.azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver- services/Tests_Manuals_and_Driving_Schools/manuals. 
  
 PART II:   INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF (List all instructors) 

Note:  Each instructor must have a current Arizona teaching certificate with a driver education endorsement registered with his/her county school superintendent’s 
              office.  Instructors who teach at more than one high school must include their names on the staff list of every school where they teach. 
 Full name as it appears on your driver’s 
 license 
  

Driver’s license 
number* 

For MVD 
use only Social security number 

Classroom Behind the wheel 

First Name    Middle Name    Last Name Y N Y N 

        
        
        
        
        
        
        
        

https://www.azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-%20services/Tests_Manuals_and_Driving_Schools/manuals


 PART III:   CLASSROOM DRIVER EDUCATION INSTRUCTION 
CALCULATION OF TOTAL CLASSROOM MINUTES OF DRIVER EDUCATION INSTRUCTION 

 
 

 =  

A.      Length of class in minutes Number of days of instruction specifically 
on driver education 

Total classroom minutes of driver education 
(Minimum of 1800 minutes) 

B.  Is driver education a graduation requirement in your charter school or district?             Y          N   
 PART IV:  BEHIND-THE-WHEEL DRIVER EDUCATION INSTRUCTION 

Note:  Every student completing the driver education program must receive at least 6 clock hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction.  These hours must be 
actual driving time, not passenger/observer time.   At least 3 hours of the required total of 6 hours must be on-the-street driving instruction.  The remainder 
may be accrued using simulators and/or multi-car driving ranges.  (4 hours of simulator instruction equals 1 hour of behind-the-wheel instruction.) 

A.  Does your driver education program use simulators?         Y         N   
  If YES, how many hours of simulator instruction does each student receive?  hours 
  If YES, how many hours of on-the-street or multi-car driving range instruction does each student receive?  hours 

                                                                                                                                                                                                       (Must be at least 3 hours) 
  If NO, how many hours of on-the-street or multi-car driving range instruction does each student receive?  hours 
                                                                                                        (Must be at least 6 hours) 

B.  What is the fee charged for behind-the-wheel instruction:  

C.  What is the fee charged for classroom instruction:                                                                                                                                                          . 
 PART V:   CONTINUING EDUCATION/PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT FOR INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF  

Note: List each instructor from Part II and list the most recent continuing education (CE) or professional development (PD) received that was directly related to 
             driver education. 

Instructor Name (from Part II) Name of CE or PD 
Course/Training/Conference Name of Organization That Sponsored CE or PD Date Attended 

    

    

    

    
 PART VI:  SIGNATURE 

I certify that the information provided in this application is true and accurate, and represents the driver education program as it will be conducted this year. 
  SIGNATURE OF 
SUPERINTENDENT 
   OR PRINCIPAL:                                                                                         TITLE:                                                                          DATE:                                                   . 
*Must have a valid Arizona drivers license 




