

AZDOT - CDL Fact Sheet

Certifying Organization	Arizona Department of Transportation							
Description of Credentials	The commercial driver license (CDL) originated from the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986. The act is a nationwide effort to ensure that only qualified drivers receive and maintain a CDL and to remove unsafe and unqualified drivers from highways.							
Entry-Level Annual Salaries	\$28,200 to \$72,414							
Industry-Based Certification Requirements: Students								
Standard / Curriculum	Arizona Department of Transportation Commercial Driver License Manual.							
Testing Methodology (consists of two tests)	Paper?	No	Online – Cognitive portion	Yes	Performance Exams / Tests? Psychomotor portion	Yes		
Re-Testing (if available)	Re-Testing Procedures:	three attempts to pass the knowledge tests, within 12 months from the date of the application. For a multipart test, if you fail a section but pass another, you receive credit for the passed sections and do not have to repeat them. After three failed attempts to pass the remaining sections of the test, you must pay for a new application. If you also applied for endorsements, you have three attempts to pass each endorsement test.CDL Skills Tests: After obtaining a CDL instruction permit, you may take the skills tests, consisting of a pretrip inspection, skills test and road test. Upon payment of the skills test fees, you have three attempts to pass the skills tests. The skills test has three parts. If you fail a section but pass another, you receive credit for the passed sections and do not have to repeat them. After three failed attempts to pass all sections of the test you must pay a new skills test fee, which will give you an additional three attempts.						
Testing Details (including any age requirements / accommodations)	Must be 21 years of age or older. Knowledge tests require a minimum score of 80 percent to pass the exam. Applicants are required to wait until the next business day to retake any tests.NOTE: Once you have answered 80 percent of the test questions correctly, or once you have missed the maximum amount allowed, the test will automatically stop. The following items are not allowed in the testing area: Cell phones Electronic dictionaries							

AZDOT - CDL Fact Sheet

	Any person other than the applicant (Children are not allowed in the test room area and must wait in the lobby, supervised by an adult who is accompanying you.) Backpacks, bags, purses, books, paper, pens, pencils, etc., may be brought into the testing area, but you will be instructed to store them in a designated area away from the testing computer. Road/Skills Test Before taking the driving portion of the test, please practice and review Chapters 11, 12 and 13 of the Commercial Driver License Manual. You will be required to complete a road/skills test in the class of vehicle you intend to drive. If testing for the passenger or school bus endorsement, you must test in the size of bus or school bus you intended to drive. You may take the road/skills test at an MVD CDL office. In addition, there are many public and private organizations in Arizona that have MVD-certified testers who are authorized to administer the road/skills test to CDL applicants Industry-Based Certification Requirements: Teachers							
Instructor Certification Requirements (by certifying agency)	N/A							
Proctoring / Test Security (if any)	Proctors at Motor Vehicle Department							
Certification Tracking								
Credentialing Documentation	Paper Permit, Plastic Card License							
Certification Tracking System	Online Tracking System?	Yes	Details	N/A				
Other Details	Expiration Timeline?	12 Years						
Certification Costs / Funding Sources								
Cost Details	\$12.50							
Re-test / Refund Policies	No Refunds							
For More Information								
Certifying Agency Contact Info	Arizona Department Of Motor Vehicles 602-255-0072							